Forum Search:
RSD No Spam
rec.sport.disc without the spam


Home » RSD » RSD Posts » Rule Question: Picks
Rule Question: Picks [message #19354] Fri, 17 April 2009 08:38 Go to next message
Keith.Larsen.TX
Messages: 41
Registered: September 2008
Member
Defensive play made in endzone, same player picks the disc up and runs
it up to the goal line where he hucks it deep. The person it was
initially thrown to in the endzone (the defender now) calls a pick
while trying to follow him to the goal line.

It is a pick?

The rules say that you cannot be picked on the mark, but what if the
thrower is legally moving with the disc? The defender was within 3
yards and was legitamitely withheld from running with him to the goal
line... but was he allowed to call it?

Thoughts?
-Keith
Re: Rule Question: Picks [message #19356 is a reply to message #19354] Fri, 17 April 2009 08:46 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Manzell
Messages: 145
Registered: October 2008
Senior Member
On Apr 17, 11:38 am, keith.larsen...@gmail.com wrote:
> Defensive play made in endzone, same player picks the disc up and runs
> it up to the goal line where he hucks it deep. The person it was
> initially thrown to in the endzone (the defender now) calls a pick
> while trying to follow him to the goal line.
>
> It is a pick?
>
> The rules say that you cannot be picked on the mark, but what if the
> thrower is legally moving with the disc? The defender was within 3
> yards and was legitamitely withheld from running with him to the goal
> line... but was he allowed to call it?
>
> Thoughts?
> -Keith

I would say yes. I never knew the rule about not being able to be
picked on the mark. It sounds like a really savvy team could figure
something out to generate an uncontested huck exploiting this.
Re: Rule Question: Picks [message #19357 is a reply to message #19354] Fri, 17 April 2009 08:46 Go to previous messageGo to next message
Matt Johnson
Messages: 174
Registered: September 2008
Senior Member
On Apr 17, 10:38 am, keith.larsen...@gmail.com wrote:
> Defensive play made in endzone, same player picks the disc up and runs
> it up to the goal line where he hucks it deep. The person it was
> initially thrown to in the endzone (the defender now) calls a pick
> while trying to follow him to the goal line.
>
> It is a pick?
>
> The rules say that you cannot be picked on the mark, but what if the
> thrower is legally moving with the disc? The defender was within 3
> yards and was legitamitely withheld from running with him to the goal
> line... but was he allowed to call it?
>
> Thoughts?
> -Keith


Why can't a mark call a pick?

I couldn't find it anywhere in the rules. I searched pick and
everything.


XVI. Violations and Fouls

I. Picks:
A pick occurs whenever an offensive player moves in a manner that
causes a defensive player guarding (II.G) an offensive player to be
obstructed by another player. Obstruction may result from contact
with, or the need to avoid, the obstructing player.
A pick can be called only by the obstructed player and must be
announced by loudly calling pick immediately after it occurs.
If play stops according to XVI.C, players reposition according to
XVI.C.4. In addition, the obstructed player is then allowed to move to
recover the relative position lost because of the pick.
Re: Rule Question: Picks [message #19371 is a reply to message #19357] Fri, 17 April 2009 10:15 Go to previous messageGo to next message
dusty21
Messages: 16
Registered: October 2008
Junior Member
On Apr 17, 11:46 am, Matt Johnson <BSSH...@gmail.com> wrote:
> On Apr 17, 10:38 am, keith.larsen...@gmail.com wrote:
>
> > Defensive play made in endzone, same player picks the disc up and runs
> > it up to the goal line where he hucks it deep. The person it was
> > initially thrown to in the endzone (the defender now) calls a pick
> > while trying to follow him to the goal line.
>
> > It is a pick?
>
> > The rules say that you cannot be picked on the mark, but what if the
> > thrower is legally moving with the disc? The defender was within 3
> > yards and was legitamitely withheld from running with him to the goal
> > line... but was he allowed to call it?
>
> > Thoughts?
> > -Keith
>
> Why can't a mark call a pick?
>
> I couldn't find it anywhere in the rules.  I searched pick and
> everything.

Under the 10th edition, it said "...causes a defensive player guarding
a RECEIVER to be obstructed...", meaning if you are guarding a
thrower, he is not a legal receiver and thus pick rules do not apply.
Under the 11th it was changed. Now this situation is a pick.
Re: Rule Question: Picks [message #19391 is a reply to message #19371] Fri, 17 April 2009 11:57 Go to previous messageGo to next message
matty j
Messages: 250
Registered: October 2008
Senior Member
On Apr 17, 1:15 pm, dust...@gmail.com wrote:
> On Apr 17, 11:46 am, Matt Johnson <BSSH...@gmail.com> wrote:
>
>
>
>
>
> > On Apr 17, 10:38 am, keith.larsen...@gmail.com wrote:
>
> > > Defensive play made in endzone, same player picks the disc up and runs
> > > it up to the goal line where he hucks it deep. The person it was
> > > initially thrown to in the endzone (the defender now) calls a pick
> > > while trying to follow him to the goal line.
>
> > > It is a pick?
>
> > > The rules say that you cannot be picked on the mark, but what if the
> > > thrower is legally moving with the disc? The defender was within 3
> > > yards and was legitamitely withheld from running with him to the goal
> > > line... but was he allowed to call it?
>
> > > Thoughts?
> > > -Keith
>
> > Why can't a mark call a pick?
>
> > I couldn't find it anywhere in the rules.  I searched pick and
> > everything.
>
> Under the 10th edition, it said "...causes a defensive player guarding
> a RECEIVER to be obstructed...", meaning if you are guarding a
> thrower, he is not a legal receiver and thus pick rules do not apply.
> Under the 11th it was changed.  Now this situation is a pick.- Hide quoted text -
>
> - Show quoted text -

Yes, previously it was a foul, now it is a pick.
Re: Rule Question: Picks [message #19401 is a reply to message #19354] Fri, 17 April 2009 12:47 Go to previous message
agerics20
Messages: 8115
Registered: October 2008
Senior Member
On Apr 17, 11:38 am, keith.larsen...@gmail.com wrote:
> Defensive play made in endzone, same player picks the disc up and runs
> it up to the goal line where he hucks it deep. The person it was
> initially thrown to in the endzone (the defender now) calls a pick
> while trying to follow him to the goal line.
>
> It is a pick?
`~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

---travel.
no ground tap.

let's abolish that ground tap........
Re: Rule Question: Picks [message #19484 is a reply to message #19354] Fri, 17 April 2009 08:46 Go to previous message
Manzell
Messages: 145
Registered: October 2008
Senior Member
On Apr 17, 11:38 am, keith.larsen...@gmail.com wrote:
> Defensive play made in endzone, same player picks the disc up and runs
> it up to the goal line where he hucks it deep. The person it was
> initially thrown to in the endzone (the defender now) calls a pick
> while trying to follow him to the goal line.
>
> It is a pick?
>
> The rules say that you cannot be picked on the mark, but what if the
> thrower is legally moving with the disc? The defender was within 3
> yards and was legitamitely withheld from running with him to the goal
> line... but was he allowed to call it?
>
> Thoughts?
> -Keith

I would say yes. I never knew the rule about not being able to be
picked on the mark. It sounds like a really savvy team could figure
something out to generate an uncontested huck exploiting this.
Re: Rule Question: Picks [message #19485 is a reply to message #19354] Fri, 17 April 2009 08:46 Go to previous message
Matt Johnson
Messages: 174
Registered: September 2008
Senior Member
On Apr 17, 10:38 am, keith.larsen...@gmail.com wrote:
> Defensive play made in endzone, same player picks the disc up and runs
> it up to the goal line where he hucks it deep. The person it was
> initially thrown to in the endzone (the defender now) calls a pick
> while trying to follow him to the goal line.
>
> It is a pick?
>
> The rules say that you cannot be picked on the mark, but what if the
> thrower is legally moving with the disc? The defender was within 3
> yards and was legitamitely withheld from running with him to the goal
> line... but was he allowed to call it?
>
> Thoughts?
> -Keith


Why can't a mark call a pick?

I couldn't find it anywhere in the rules. I searched pick and
everything.


XVI. Violations and Fouls

I. Picks:
A pick occurs whenever an offensive player moves in a manner that
causes a defensive player guarding (II.G) an offensive player to be
obstructed by another player. Obstruction may result from contact
with, or the need to avoid, the obstructing player.
A pick can be called only by the obstructed player and must be
announced by loudly calling pick immediately after it occurs.
If play stops according to XVI.C, players reposition according to
XVI.C.4. In addition, the obstructed player is then allowed to move to
recover the relative position lost because of the pick.
Re: Rule Question: Picks [message #19498 is a reply to message #19357] Fri, 17 April 2009 10:15 Go to previous message
dusty21
Messages: 16
Registered: October 2008
Junior Member
On Apr 17, 11:46 am, Matt Johnson <BSSH...@gmail.com> wrote:
> On Apr 17, 10:38 am, keith.larsen...@gmail.com wrote:
>
> > Defensive play made in endzone, same player picks the disc up and runs
> > it up to the goal line where he hucks it deep. The person it was
> > initially thrown to in the endzone (the defender now) calls a pick
> > while trying to follow him to the goal line.
>
> > It is a pick?
>
> > The rules say that you cannot be picked on the mark, but what if the
> > thrower is legally moving with the disc? The defender was within 3
> > yards and was legitamitely withheld from running with him to the goal
> > line... but was he allowed to call it?
>
> > Thoughts?
> > -Keith
>
> Why can't a mark call a pick?
>
> I couldn't find it anywhere in the rules.  I searched pick and
> everything.

Under the 10th edition, it said "...causes a defensive player guarding
a RECEIVER to be obstructed...", meaning if you are guarding a
thrower, he is not a legal receiver and thus pick rules do not apply.
Under the 11th it was changed. Now this situation is a pick.
Re: Rule Question: Picks [message #19516 is a reply to message #19371] Fri, 17 April 2009 11:57 Go to previous message
matty j
Messages: 250
Registered: October 2008
Senior Member
On Apr 17, 1:15 pm, dust...@gmail.com wrote:
> On Apr 17, 11:46 am, Matt Johnson <BSSH...@gmail.com> wrote:
>
>
>
>
>
> > On Apr 17, 10:38 am, keith.larsen...@gmail.com wrote:
>
> > > Defensive play made in endzone, same player picks the disc up and runs
> > > it up to the goal line where he hucks it deep. The person it was
> > > initially thrown to in the endzone (the defender now) calls a pick
> > > while trying to follow him to the goal line.
>
> > > It is a pick?
>
> > > The rules say that you cannot be picked on the mark, but what if the
> > > thrower is legally moving with the disc? The defender was within 3
> > > yards and was legitamitely withheld from running with him to the goal
> > > line... but was he allowed to call it?
>
> > > Thoughts?
> > > -Keith
>
> > Why can't a mark call a pick?
>
> > I couldn't find it anywhere in the rules.  I searched pick and
> > everything.
>
> Under the 10th edition, it said "...causes a defensive player guarding
> a RECEIVER to be obstructed...", meaning if you are guarding a
> thrower, he is not a legal receiver and thus pick rules do not apply.
> Under the 11th it was changed.  Now this situation is a pick.- Hide quoted text -
>
> - Show quoted text -

Yes, previously it was a foul, now it is a pick.
Previous Topic:Calling all Callahan Contenders!
Next Topic:Chicago Haymaker Tryouts
Goto Forum:
  


Current Time: Fri Jan 17 23:00:05 PST 2020
.:: Contact :: Home ::.

Powered by: FUDforum 3.0.0RC2.
Copyright ©2001-2009 FUDforum Bulletin Board Software